From Amazon: Hater by David Moody

REMAIN CALM DO NOT PANIC TAKE SHELTER WAIT FOR FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS THE SITUATION IS UNDER CONTROL Society is rocked by a sudden increase in the number of violent assaults on individuals. Christened ‘Haters’ by the media, the attackers strike without warning, killing all who cross their path. The assaults are brutal, remorseless and extreme: within seconds, normally rational, self-controlled people become frenzied, vicious killers. There are no apparent links as a hundred random attacks become a thousand, then hundreds of thousands. Everyone, irrespective of gender, age, race or any other difference, has the potential to become a victim – or a Hater. People are afraid to go to work, afraid to leave their homes and, increasingly, afraid that at any moment their friends, even their closest family, could turn on them with ultra violent intent. Waking up each morning, no matter how well defended, everyone must now consider the fact that by the end of the day, they might be dead. Or perhaps worse, become a killer themselves. As the status quo shifts, ATTACK FIRST, ASK QUESTIONS LATER becomes the order of the day… only, the answers might be much different than what you expect….

In the tradition of H. G. Wells and Richard Matheson, Hater is one man’s story of his place in a world gone mad— a world infected with fear, violence, and HATE.

I feel like I’ve played right into David Moody’s hands. I hated this book! But part of me thinks that was his intention. Danny, the poor bastard we follow through this entire book is so miserable! And he makes me so miserable! No seriously, he hates his life, he hates his job, he hates his boss, sometimes he hates the old ball and chain and the kids. And whaddya know, the book is about people being suddenly overcome by hate. Hang on, I’m shocked.

I guess as far as horror novels go, this book is technically a worthy mention. This is truer given the fact that Moody originally self-published the book and it went as far as adaptation talks and movie rights but it alas, it never made it to the big screen. Though, if Guillermo DelToro comes knocking on your door to talk about your book, I’d say you’ve done ok for yourself.

Hater is book one of a three book series and I doubt I’ll be diving into the other two books anytime soon. Simply because I didn’t like the experience of the book. I was irritable, angry, and bitter while reading it. Just like Danny. It truly is quite eye opening. Like, if we don’t all chill-out and enjoy life a little bit, before you know it we’ll be bashing people’s skulls in with canned vegetables.

Speaking of which, this horror novel wasn’t a graphic gore-fest. Instead, it was shocking. The manner in which people kill other people in this book is brutal and imaginative. Each death scene descends upon the reader in foreboding italicized print and a shift in point of view. You know what’s about to happen, you can’t avoid it, prepare to be shocked at the feral ferocity of it all.

The final thing I hated about this book is not knowing what’s causing the craziness by the last page. I’m not reading the next to books to find out. If you do and you find out, let me know. I need closure!

Black